Announcements, Education, Featured, Moose Pass News, Seward Community Foundation, Seward Schools, Technology

Moose Pass Moosebots Win Award at State Tournament

The Moose Pass Moosebots. L to R: Trevor Guernsey, Jean Kingsford, Casey Bryden (aka “the Moosecot”) Jack Lindquist, Francisco Sanchez, Alejandro Sanchez, Aly Guernsey, Emma Hornberger. Photo by Wendy Bryden.

The Moose Pass FIRST Lego League Robotics team, the Moosebots, won the Core Values Inspiration award at the state tournament  in Anchorage, which was held January 20th.  The award celebrates a team that is empowered by their FIRST LEGO League experience and displays extraordinary enthusiasm and spirit.

FIRST Lego League is a worldwide program in which students age 9-14 design, build and program a robot made from Lego components to complete tasks and earn points on a Lego playing field.  Additionally, the teams complete a science fair type project which relates to a different theme each year in which they research and solve a problem.  Students are taught to work under the Core Values which encourages them to work as a team, share what they learn with others and have fun.  Students are also taught to embrace the principles of Gracious Professionalism and Cooperation which include helping the competition.  Some of the Moosebots assisted the rookie Seward Robotics team coached by Mica Van Buskirk and Heather Shank.

This year’s project theme is Hydrodynamics and the Moosebots learned about the local Moose Pass water cycle and how the water at the Moose Pass school was recently made potable.


Members of the team include Casey Bryden, Jean Clarisse-Kingsford, Aly Guernsey, Trevor Guernsey, Emma Hornberger, Jack Lindquist, Alejandro Sanchez and Francisco Sanchez.  They attend the Moose Pass School and Seward Middle School. The team is coached by Wendy Bryden and Eva Sanchez.

Moose Pass Junior Robotics Team with their project. L to R: Olive James, Santana Sanchez, Regan Seibert, Lyric Malone. Photo by Wendy Bryden.

Several younger Moose Pass students also competed in the Junior FIRST Lego League exposition which was held at the same time.  The junior team, the Hydro Savers, is composed of 5 students in grades first through third.  Junior team members were Olive James, Harry LaBrake, Lyric Malone,  Santana Sanchez, and Regan Seibert.  Laura James also assisted with coaching the JRFLL students.

The teams are supported by the Moose Pass School and have received grant money from the Moose Pass Sportsman’s Club and the Seward Community Foundation, an Affiliate of The Alaska Community Foundation.


Comments are closed.