The Number 13 is Lucky Number for High School Principal

The Seward Seahawks Athletic Booster Club’s annual golf tournament was played on July 23rd at the Birch Ridge Golf Course. It was the 13th year the tournament has been held and it proved to be a lucky number for high school principal Trevan Walker. He and his teammates took first place in the best ball tournament! Mr. Walker played with Gene Minden, Linda Murphy and Dale Shea. Their names will be engraved on the Booster Club Golf Tournament plaque that hangs in the high school. The second place team was Jeff Hetrick, Brian Ray, Martha Fleming and Starkey Saindon. The team placing third was Dan Murphy, Bill Pendleton, Pat Clark and Jean Bardarson. During the tournament there were two contest held. One is a closest to the pin contest and the other is the longest drive contest. The closest to the pin contest winners were Dan Murphy and Lori Draper. The longest drive contest winners were Byron Loomis and Lori Draper. In all, 13 teams participated in this fundraiser for the high school’s athletic programs and raised nearly $4,000.


In large part, the success of this event can be contributed to its sponsors and volunteers. The Booster Club gives thanks to the hole sponsors, many whom have been with the tournament since it’s inception: the Alaska SeaLife Center, the Alaska Shop, The Breeze Inn, Chinook’s Restaurant, Edward Jones, Kenai Fjords Tours, Major Marine Tours, Mt. View Sports, Petro 49, Resurrection Roadhouse/Windsong Lodge, Seward Real Estate, Seward Properties, Shoreside Petroleum/Essential One, Spenard Builders Supply, TelAlaska, The Odom Corporation, and Zudy’s Café. The contest sponsors were Danlin Construction and ClerkWorksAK. Three Bears donated picnic supplies and the Inn at Tern Lake and Summit Lake Lodge, as well as members of the Booster Club, donated the food for the picnic after golfing. Thanks also to all of the volunteers and several individuals that made cash donations and a final thank you to the Birch Ridge Golf Course for hosting the tournament once again.





Comments are closed.