Alaska, KPB, Politics

Preliminary Election Results Reported at 10 p.m. by Division of Elections

By Rick Smeriglio for SCN –

The state of Alaska Division of Elections released its first batch of unofficial election results Tuesday evening for the statewide primary election. With only 59,000 votes counted, in about 32 percent of precincts, Ballot Measure One, to repeal or to retain the current tax structure on oil production, appeared tied between the yes and the no votes.

In House District 29, which includes Seward, Bear Creek, Moose Pass, Cooper Landing and Hope, over 91 percent precincts have reported. Incumbent Representative Mike Chenault has received over 2,200 votes for the Republican nomination. Challenger Rocky Knudsen has received over 700 votes for the Democratic nomination. The two will likely face eachother in the general election.

In Senate District O, which includes all of District 29 plus Kenai and the northern Kenai Peninsula, incumbent Peter Micciche has run unopposed and has garnered over 3,100 votes.

With 32 percent of precincts reporting, for the office of Lieutenant Governor, Hollis French and Mayor Dan Sullivan have insurmountable leads over their competitors for the Democratic and Republican nominations respectively.


For the office of Governor, incumbent Sean Parnell has gotten nearly 75 percent of the vote for the Republican nomination. Democrat Byron Mallott has gotten over 65 percent of the vote for his party’s nomination.

For the office of Alaska Representative to the US House, Incumbent Don Young faced no serious completion for the Republican nomination and has received almost 74 percent of the vote. Democratic challenger Forrest Dunbar has gathered about 62 percent of his party’s vote. The two will likely face each other in this fall’s general election.

For the office of US Senator from Alaska, incumbent Mark Begich has an insurmountable lead with over 83 percent of the Democratic vote. In the hotly contested race to become his Republican challenger in the general election, Dan Sullivan has a modest lead over Joe Miller with many votes still uncounted



Comments are closed.