Announcements, Business, Events, Outdoors, Sports

Seward Halibut Tournament Final Results

cptmattSeward Halibut Tournament Press Release:

The Seward Halibut Tournament was more competitive than ever! Captains were swinging for the fence for the entire month and there were some monsters caught.  Captain Chris Boyd had five daily winners this month followed closely by Jacob Effen on the Grand Slam, Captain Andy Mezirow on the Crackerjack Voyager and Steve Zernia of the Pursuit. Ryan Rogers from the One Day had only one daily winner and on June 20th he weighed in a 260 pound monster. Seven days later the Crackerjack Voyager weighed in a 80” halibut that looked like it might be a repeat of last year’s victory, but that fish was a little smaller at 250 pounds. Amazingly Captain Elf on the Grand Slam weighed in a 259 pound fish for second place at the time.

On the last day of the Tournament it looked like it would be The One Day, Grand Slam and Crackerjack Voyager as the finalists in the money.  Captain Andy Mezirow had other plans and defended his 2013 victory by delivering a 312 pound monster to be weighed in on the last day of the tournament. That makes his streak of guiding anglers to the grand prize three of the last four years. The last minute victory, will surely fuel the fire of others to try even harder next year. The tournament has come to represent camaraderie, and friendly competition for a number of charter operators and private boaters in town and creates a great environment for visiting fishermen too.

All participating tournament captains were eligible for a Captains Prize.  This year, Matt Rutz on the Servant won a round trip ticket anywhere Alaska Airlines files.

Daniel Watson from Minnesota got lucky while fishing with Semaka Charters.  Dan reeled in a tagged fish worth a cool $500 on June 10th.  Find a complete list of winners on the Halibut Tournament page on


2014 Daily Winners:
Date Weight Name Charter Company/Boat
1-Jun 134.2 Patrick Hankins Tia Rose
2-Jun 109.6  Alexandra Thompson Grand Slam
3-Jun 130.8  Adrian Villarreau CrackerJack Voyager
4-Jun 119.6  Jim Provercal Grand Slam
5-Jun 120.8  Alejandra Davila CrackerJack Voyager
6-Jun 79.4  David Parsio Orion
7-Jun 46.8  David Loy Sea Quest
8-Jun 114.2  Josephine Lekse CrackerJack Voyager
9-Jun 145.2  Terry Gonsalves Tia Rose
10-Jun 122.8  Lynn Kiser Arctic Cat
11-Jun 78.6  Alicia Dalzell CrackerJack
12-Jun 90.8  Denise Engels Noble Eagle
13-Jun 97.4  Laura Stannley Tia Rose
14-Jun 171.6  Greg Caldwell Sea Quest
15-Jun 104.2


 Patrick Kelly Grand Slam 16-Jun 87.2  Ron Scaazi CrackerJoack 17-Jun  WEATHER DAY 18-Jun 48.6  Carmine Dwyer Sea Quest 19-Jun 126.2  Doug Gryder Interceptor 20-Jun 260.6  Mark Callister One Day 21-Jun 188.6  Dameon Schank Tia Rose 22-Jun 110.6  Matthew Maly Aurora 23-Jun 146  Thomas Brepin Pursuit 24-Jun 154  Ryszoivd Wieliki Seafarer 25-Jun 91.0  Justin Roggeman Pursuit 26-Jun 164.8  Fred Houtman Tia Rose 27-Jun 259.4 Randy Sinipson Grand Slam 28-Jun WEATHER DAY 29-Jun 177.4 Michael Moriarty Pursuit 30-Jun 312.2 Oleg Gozobohenno CrackerJack Voyager 22-May 86 Daniel Thomas (Combat Tourney Winnner) Alaska Summer 6-Jun 17.6 Daniel Watson ($500 Tagged fish) Seafarer




Comments are closed.