Announcements, Arts

Rasmuson Foundation Announces 36 Individual Artist Awards Statewide: 2013 Distinguished Artist is Teri Rofkar of Sitka

Rasmuson Awards 2013Sitka basket and textile weaver Teri Rofkar has been named the 2013 Rasmuson Distinguished Artist. The $40,000 award, announced today in Anchorage, recognizes an artist with stature and a history of creative excellence. Rofkar is the tenth Alaskan artist to receive the award, and she joins a prestigious list of previous winners including Kes Woodward (2012), Ray Troll (2011), John Luther Adams (2010), Nathan Jackson (2009), Ronald Senungetuk (2008), Rie Munoz (2007), Delores Churchill (2006), John Haines (2005) and Sylvester Ayek (2004).

 “Teri Rofkar has lectured, demonstrated, taught, encouraged and promoted Tlingit weaving across the country,” said Diane Kaplan, Rasmuson Foundation president and CEO. “Not only is she an artist of amazing talent and stature, she is also the most delightful, generous and patient person you probably will ever meet.”
Rofkar has numerous public installations of her Raven’s Tail weaving and basketry, and also works in hand spun wool, hand-sown moccasins, carved items, blankets and hand felted items.  She was named a National Heritage Fellow “Living Treasure,” in 2009, a United States Artist Fellow in 2006 and won the Governor’s Award for Alaska Native Art and the Buffett Award for Indigenous Leadership in 2004. Rofkar has served as an Artist in Residence at the Alaska Native Heritage Center in Anchorage and at the Southeast Alaska Indian Cultural Center in Sitka. She has conducted workshops at the NMAI National Museum of American Indian in New York and has been a culture bearer on cruise ships and in Sitka schools. She is a graduate of Dimond High School in Anchorage and says part of her education has been the encouragement and help received from Elders.
In addition to the Distinguished Artist Award, Rasmuson Foundation also awarded 25 Project Grants (worth up to $7,500 each) and ten Fellowships (worth up to $18,000 each). These artists were chosen from a total of 366 applicants, whose applications were judged by an esteemed national panel of artists and arts leaders. A complete list of award recipients is attached.
This year’s winners represent 14 different communities across Alaska including Anchorage, Chugiak, Douglas, Fairbanks, Healy, Homer, Juneau, Soldotna, North Pole, Ward Cove, Talkeetna, Ketchikan, Nome and Sitka.
For more information, contact Cassandra Stalzer at Rasmuson Foundation at (907) 334-0520 or View a video about Teri Rofkar at
Rasmuson Awards 2013


About the Individual Artist Awards

In December 2003, the Rasmuson Foundation Board of Directors launched a multi-year initiative to make a significant investment into the arts and cultural resources of the state. Designed with the help from artists and arts organizations from around the state, the initiative prioritized support to practicing artists themselves as a key strategy to ensure Alaska enjoys a vibrant art and culture community.

This is the tenth year of the Individual Artist Awards program, and as of today, the program has awarded 303 grants, totaling more than $2.3 million, directly to Alaska artists.  The purpose of the awards is to allow artists to seek a variety of creative opportunities, including providing them with the time necessary to focus on creative work.

About the Foundation

The Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. The Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.

# # #



Comments are closed.