Local Primary Election on Tuesday, August 28 from 7 am to 8 pm

Here’s some information on the upcoming election so there are no surprises at the ballot box.

Nest Tuesday, August 28 is the Primary Election. The polling sites are open from 7 am to 8 pm. Seward and Lowell Point voters will vote at the Seward Marine Science Center KM Rae Building at 125 Third Avenue. Bear Lake voters will continue to vote at the Bear Creek Fire Hall.

You must be prepared to show one form of identification such as the new Voter ID card. If your name does not appear on the official Register, you can vote a Questioned Ballot.

In the Seward primary election, only registered Republicans, Undeclared, and Non-Partisan voters can vote an Alaska Republican Party ballot. This was decided by the Alaska Republican Party. Any registered voter can vote on the Alaska Democratic Party/Alaska Libertarian Party/Alaska Independence Party ballot. Note that voters registered as Republican, Undeclared or Non-Partisan may choose either ballot.

Both ballots, and a Measures-Only ballot include two measures: Ballot Measure No 1 concerns the city or borough property tax exemption, and Ballot Measure No 2 concerns the Alaska Coastal Management Program. Both measures are addressed in detail in the recently mailed State of Alaska Primary Election Ballot Measures pamphlet.

The Alaska Republican ballot has three parts. United States Representative: John Cox, Terre Gates, and Don Young. State Senator District N: Cathy Giessel, Joe Arness. State Representative District 28: Mike Chenault.


The Alaska Democratic Party/Alaska Libertarian Party/Alaskan Independence Party has only one part. United States Representative: Matt Moore, Doug Urquidi, Frank Vondersaar, Debra Chesnut, Sharon Cissna, Jim McDermott.

Sample ballots for Seward are available at the city clerk’s office.

Mark your calendar for August 28 Primary Election, the October 2 City and Borough Election, and the November 6 General Election. Polls are open from 7 am to 8 pm.

Absentee voting in person begins 15 days prior to an election. To receive a ballot by mail, you must apply at least 10 days prior to an election. The application for a by mail ballot is on the State Division of Elections website at elections@alaska.gov. More information on the Seward election process is available on the city website at

< http://www.cityofseward.us/index.aspx?nid=680>

Submitted by Carol Griswold


One Comment

  1. Thanks for posting this Carol. New place to go for voting now! Let’s get out and vote.