Events, Sports

Mt. Marathon Race Highlights

Allison Ostrander Races Toward Finish

It was a slick, muddy, brutal race up and down Mount Marathon this year, with some accidents and ambulance-rescues in each of the three races. Folks arrived muddied and bloodied at the finish line, but smiling and proud of their accomplishments.

Holly Brooks, of Anchorage won the Mount Marathon women’s race Wednesday July 4th, clocking in at 51 minutes and 53 seconds. Closely behind was Chugach runner Lauren Fritz, who made it in 54 minutes and 47 seconds.
Fellow Olympian and last year’s winner Kikkan Randall had opted not to run in this year’s race to focus on training for the Olympics. Brooks, who posted a time of 52:22 last year closely behind Randall, beat Randall’s winning time of 52:03 this year.
Moose Pass’ Miles Knotek, 17, and Allison Ostrander, 15, of Soldotna were the first boy and girl winners in the Junior Race. Miles, who also won last year’s Junior race, made it in 27 minutes and 17 seconds. Allie came in at 32 minutes, 50 seconds. Miles’ time last year was 26:18. Ostranders’ was 30:132.
In the men’s race, Matthew Novakovich, 38, of Anchorage, beat an experienced pack of race veterans, with a time of 44:07. It was his first Mt. Marathon Race win.


Michael Marshall Races Down Jefferson

Also: Michael Marshall, of Seward, came in third in the Junior race, behind Lyon Kopsak, of Palmer.

Seward's Allison Barnwell takes fourth place

Allison Barnwell, of Seward, came in fourth in the women’s race.


One Comment

  1. Miles’ 2012 time was 27:17
    Allison’s 2011 time was 30:32

    Carol Griswold